clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tim Brown, Warren Sapp finalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame

New, comments

The finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2013 came out today and former ‘Mr Raider' Tim Brown is among those named.

Pro Football Hall of Fame

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced their 15 modern-era finalists for the 2013 class along with 2 senior nominees. Raiders great, Tim Brown has made the list for the second year in a row. Also making the list was former Raider and Buccaneer defensive lineman, Warren Sapp.

The original list of nominees stood at 127 players, coaches, and contributors. It was pared down to 27 semifinalists and now to 15 finalists. Among those semifinalists who didn't make the list of finalists was former Raiders and Chiefs cornerback, Albert Lewis.

The next step will be announcing those of the 15 finalists who will be enshrined in the 2013 class. That decision will be made when the Selection Committee meets in New Orleans, La. on Saturday, Feb. 2, 2013. The winners will be announced at 8:30 pm PST in a one hour NFL Network Special.

Although there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the Pro Football Hall of Fame's current ground rules stipulate that between four and seven new members will be selected each year with no more than five coming from the modern-era finalists. To be elected, a finalist must receive a minimum positive vote of 80 percent.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee's 17 finalists (15 modern-era and two senior nominees*) with their positions, teams, and years active follow: