clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Tim Brown, Steve Wisniewski among 25 semifinalists for 2014 Pro Football Hall of Fame class

New, comments
Pro Football Hall of Fame

The semifinalists for the 2014 Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2014 were announced today and among them were three former Raiders - Tim Brown, Steve Wisniewski, and Roger Craig. They are also joined by Ray Guy who is a Senior Committee nominee.

Tim Brown spent the first 16 of his 17 seasons in the NFL with the Raiders. During his time in the NFL, he compiled 1094 receptions 14,934 yards with exactly 100 receiving TD's. He was a nine-time Pro Bowler as both a return specialist and a wide receiver. His receiving numbers are fifth all-time in NFL history and is the highest total of any eligible receiver not already in the Hall of Fame. He has been eligible since 2010.

Steve Wisniewski played his entire 12-year career for the Raiders. In that time he was an 8-time Pro Bowler and 2-time All Pro selection locking down the left guard spot for the Raiders for over a decade. In his career, he missed just two games with one being his rookie season.

Roger Craig played just one season in Silver & Black. He made his Hall of Fame credentials as a member of several Super Bowl teams with the 49ers. But the Raiders still claim him among their tally should he get in.

The entire list is as follows:

Morten Andersen, K - 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings

Steve Atwater, S - 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets

Jerome Bettis, RB - 1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers

Derrick Brooks, LB - 1995-2008 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Tim Brown, WR/KR - 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Don Coryell, Coach - 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers

Roger Craig, RB - 1983-1990 San Francisco 49ers, 1991 Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-93 Minnesota Vikings

Terrell Davis, RB - 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner - 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers

Tony Dungy, Coach - 1996-2001 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2002-08 Indianapolis Colts

Kevin Greene, LB/DE - 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

Charles Haley, DE/LB - 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys

Marvin Harrison, WR - 1996-2008 Indianapolis Colts

Joe Jacoby, T - 1981-1993 Washington Redskins

Jimmy Johnson, Coach - 1989-1993 Dallas Cowboys, 1996-99 Miami Dolphins

Walter Jones, - T - 1997-2008 Seattle Seahawks

John Lynch, FS - 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos

Karl Mecklenburg, LB - 1983-1994 Denver Broncos

Andre Reed, WR - 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins

Will Shields, G - 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs

Michael Strahan, DE - 1993-2007 New York Giants

Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner - 1989-2006 National Football League

Aeneas Williams, CB/S - 1991-2000 Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals, 2001-04 St. Louis Rams

Steve Wisniewski, G - 1989-2001 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders

George Young, Contributor - 1968-1974 Baltimore Colts, 1975-78 Miami Dolphins, 1979-1997 New York Giants, 1998-2001

Here's the next step for these 25 semifinalists:

The list of 25 semifinalists will be reduced by mail ballot to 15 modern-era finalists.  That list increases to 17 finalist nominees with the inclusion of the two recommended candidates of the Hall of Fame's Seniors Committee. The Seniors Committee nominees, who were announced in August, are punter Ray Guy (1973-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders) and defensive end Claude Humphrey (1968-1978 Atlanta Falcons, 1979-1981 Philadelphia Eagles). The results of the modern-era reduction vote to 15 finalists will be announced during a one-hour special on NFL Network on Wednesday, Jan. 8 2014 at 10 p.m. ET.