clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Raiders to honor Super Bowl XVIII team 30th anniversary Sunday

New, comments
Richard Mackson-US PRESSWIRE

Yes, it's been 30 years since the Raiders last held of the Vince Lombardi Trophy. To celebrate that anniversary, the Raiders will be honoring members of their Super Bowl XVIII winning squad at halftime of their season finale at against the Broncos on Sunday.

The Raiders beat the Washington Redskins 38-9 in a game that NFL Films called "Black Sunday". The most famous moment of the game was Marcus Allen's iconic cutback run that went for a 74-yard touchdown. He had 191 yards on the day and was named the game's MVP. The defense dominated Joe Theismann and the Redskins offense.

It was the franchise's third Super Bowl victory. Al Davis after the game said "Not only, in my opinion, are you the greatest Raider team of all time, I think you rank with the great teams of all times to have ever played any professional sport."

There's no word on confirmed players from the team will be in attendance for the halftime ceremony. Some greats in the game include Marcus Allen, Jim Plunkett, Cliff Branch, Todd Christensen, Dave Dalby, Henry Lawrence, Howie Long, Matt Millen, Ted Hendricks, Rod Martin, Lester Hayes, Jack Squirek, and Vann McElroy.