clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Hall of Fame 2013 finalists: Tim Brown out in first cutdown

New, comments

The cuts have been made today and Tim Brown was trimmed from the list.


Still in the running for the Hall of Fame class of 2013 are the other two Hall of Fame nominated receivers, Cris Carter and Andre Reed. Also still in the running is Warren Sapp.

Also eliminated in the first round of cuts were Art Modell, Eddie DeBartolo Jr, Kevin Greene, and Will Shields.

The remainder of the finalists still in the running are Jerome Bettis, Charles Haley, Jonathan Ogden, Larry Allen, Aeneas Williams, Bill Parcells, and Michael Strahan.

Brown getting cut with the first wave in favor of Carter and Reed is a bit controversial considering Tim Brown has better numbers almost across the board than Carter or Reed. The only stat of either receiver has over Brown is Carter's touchdown total.

Reed made more Super Bowls than Brown but none of the three have ever won a Super Bowl.

There will be one final cutdown to reach what is expected to be five modern-era enshrinees. That will be coming shortly.

UPDATE: The 2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame class will be Cris Carter, Warren Sapp, Larry Allen, Jonathan Ogden, and Bill Parcells, Curly Culp, and Dave Robinson.