clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Hall of Fame 2013: Warren Sapp induction brings Raiders in Canton to 21

New, comments

The Raiders came into today with two players among the finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame - Tim Brown and Warren Sapp. Brown didn't make it but Sapp did.

Stacy Revere

Warren Sapp played the final four seasons of his career with the Raiders after spending the first nine seasons of his career with the Buccaneers. He, like many Hall of Fame Raiders, made his strongest case for the Hall in another uniform.

The always vocal Sapp had made the Pro Bowl seven straight seasons before arriving in Oakland and never made it back as a Raider.

Sapp's four seasons in Oakland was a mixed bag. Statistically, he had just one very good season for the Raiders while the team was having some of the worst years of its existence. That season he had 10.0 sacks after moving from left to right defensive tackle. Word is he demanded the switch so he could add to his sack total and therefore pad his resume for the Hall of Fame.

While Sapp was never one to hold his tongue, he insisted on his fellow linemates not say a word to the media. It wasn't until he retired that we came to know Tommy Kelly as the colorful and entertaining personality he is.

But Sapp had some impressive stats before he signed on with the Raiders. He was a four time All Pro and three times had double digit sacks from the defensive tackle position - topped by his 16.5 sacks in 2000.

He also won a Super Bowl with the Buccaneers at the expense of the Raiders.

He finished his career with 96.5 sacks, 77 of which came in a Buccaneer uniform. He gets in on his first ballot.

Though he doesn't claim the Raiders nor does the Raider Nation claim him, he is still technically a Raider, he is in the Hall of Fame, so he counts. If Randy Moss ever gets in, we will be in a similar situation.

The Raiders Hall of Fame total is now at 21 which is the most among all the original AFL teams. Here is the full list:

Name Pos Seasons Inducted
Ron Mix T 1971 1979
Jim Otto C 1960-1974 1980
George Blanda QB/K 1967-1975 1981
Willie Brown CB 1967-1978 1984
Gene Upshaw G 1967-1982 1987
Fred Biletnikoff WR 1965-1978 1988
Art Shell T 1968-1982 1989
Ted Hendricks LB 1975-1983 1990
Al Davis Owner 1963-present 1992
Mike Haynes CB 1983-1989 1997
Eric Dickerson RB 1992 1999
Howie Long DE 1981-1993 2000
Ronnie Lott S 1991-1992 2000
Dave Casper TE 1974-1980, 1984 2002
Marcus Allen RB 1982-1992 2003
James Lofton WR 1987-1988 2003
Bob Brown OT 1971-1973 2004
John Madden Head Coach 1969-1978 2006
Rod Woodson S 2002-2003 2009
Jerry Rice WR 2001-2004 2010
Warren Sapp DL 2004-2007 2013