clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Ten former Raiders among 2014 Hall of Fame modern-era nominees

New, comments

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced their list of the 2014 nominees and among the modern era finalists are ten players who once donned Silver & Black.

Thearon W. Henderson

It has been just over a month since the Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2013 was enshrined. Though there were many Raiders among the initial list of nominees, there were none to get the call to the Hall. Now the nominees for the class of 2014 has been announced and there are eight former Raiders on the list.

Those former Raiders in the modern era nominees are RB Roger Craig, WR Tim Brown, OT  Jim Lachey, C Don Mosebar, G Steve Wisniewski, DT Ted Washington, CB Eric Allen, CB Albert Lewis, Coach Tom Flores, and Coach Jon Gruden. Punter Ray Guy is a Seniors Committee finalist.

Those who spent the bulk of their careers with the Raiders are Tim Brown, Don Mosebar, Steve Wisniewski, and Tom Flores.

On the other end of that spectrum is Jim Lachey who played a total of one game for the Raiders. His early career was spent in San Diego and he was a three-time All Pro in Washington. Roger Craig and Ted Washington also played the bulk of their careers elsewhere.

ROGER CRAIG - Spent most of his career with the 49ers (1983-1990). Played one season (1991) for the Los Angeles Raiders. First player in NFL history to have 1,000 yards rushing and receiving in same season. Named All-Pro once, voted to four Pro Bowls, and won three Super Bowls. Career totals included 8,189 yards rushing and 566 catches for 4,911 yards

TIM BROWN (also KR) - Known as ‘Mr Raider', he played the first 16 seasons of his career (1988-2003) with the Raiders before playing his final NFL season with the Buccaneers. Nine-time Pro Bowl selection. Recorded 1,094 receptions for 14,934 yards and 100 touchdowns. Added 3,320 yards on punt returns, 1,235 yards on kickoffs and 190 rushing yards for 19,679 career yards.

JIM LACHEY - T - 1985-87 San Diego Chargers, 1988 Los Angeles Raiders, 1988-1992, 1994-95 Washington Redskins Named to the Pro Bowl three times and played in a total of 131 games during 10 playing seasons. Selected first-team All-Pro three times and All-Conference four times.

DON MOSEBAR - C - A career Raider (1983-1994). Raiders had three starting centers from 1960 to 1994 and Mosebar was the third in that line of greats. Helped the Raiders to three division titles, one conference championship and one Super Bowl victory over 12-year career. Three-time Pro Bowler, and one-time first-team All-Pro.

STEVE WISNIEWSKI - G - Another career Raider (1989-2001). Missed just two games in his 13-year career. Named to eight Pro Bowls and selected first- or second-team All-Pro as well as All-AFC seven times.

TED WASHINGTON - DT/NT - Played two seasons with the Raiders (2004-05) among seven NFL teams on which he played over his 17-year career. A four-time Pro Bowl choice and All-Pro selection in 2001.

ERIC ALLEN - CB - Made his Hall of Fame level career as an Eagle (1988-1994) over the first seven seasons of his career, but continued to play at a high level over the final seven season with the Saints (1995-97) and Raiders (1998-2001). A six-time Pro Bowl choice - five of which with the Eagles early in his career -- recorded 54 interceptions for 826 yards and 8 touchdowns during 14 playing seasons. Selected first- or second-team All-Pro three times and first- or second-team All-NFC five times.

ALBERT LEWIS - CB - 1983-1993 Kansas City Chiefs, 1994-98 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders Played in 225 games over 16 seasons. Earned two All-Pro and three All-AFC nods and four Pro Bowl selections.

TOM FLORES - Was the Raiders first franchise quarterback, later an assistant and eventually head coach (1979-1987). Also later coached for the Seahawks (1992-94). Won two Super Bowls as the Raiders head coach. One of only 13 coaches who have won two or more Super Bowls. Finished with a 105-90 record. 1982 AFC Coach of the Year.

JON GRUDEN - His first year eligible, Gruden got his first head coaching job with the Raiders in 1998 and spent four seasons in Oakland. He then was traded to the Buccaneers where he promptly faced his former team and won his only Super Bowl. He spent seven seasons in Tampa Bay. Compiled 100-85 overall record during 11-year career including five division crowns, one conference championship and one Super Bowl title.

See the entire list of nominees here.

For Raiders fans, they will undoubtedly be just as interested in who is NOT on this list. The likes of Jim Plunkett, Ken Stabler, Cliff Branch, Lester Hayes, Jack Tatum, and Dave Dalby to name a few.

But let's try not to take away from those players who are nominees. Some very deserving names there. And as we've covered, Ray Guy is almost assured enshrinement as a Seniors Committee finalist so the Raiders will have a presence at the podium regardless.