clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sio Moore Named to 2013 Pro Football Writers Association's All-Rookie Team

New, comments
Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

Raiders rookie linebacker Sio Moore, has been named to the Pro Football Writers Association's All-Rookie Team, the PFWA announced today.

He was by far the most productive of all the Raiders rookies this season, appearing in 15 games this season, starting 11 at the weak side linebacker position. He also was one of the better pass rushers the Raiders had, finishing third on the team with 4.5 sacks.

The Raiders' third-round selection (66th overall) in the 2013 NFL Draft totaled 55 tackles (33 solo), 4.5 sacks and one forced fumble. His 4.5 sacks was the fourth most in the NFL among rookies.

Moore was named the Pepsi Next NFL Rookie of the Week for his Week 8 performance on Oct. 27 vs. the Pittsburgh Steelers. In that contest, Moore posted eight tackles (six solo) and 1.5 sacks.

Before joining Oakland, the 6-foot-1, 240-pounder played four years at Connecticut and appeared in 41 career games, totaling 274 tackles (174 solo) with 16 sacks.

Moore becomes the first Raider to be named to the PFWA's All-Rookie team since former second round pick Stefen Wisniewski earned the honor in 2011.

Here is how the entire 2013 PFWA All-Rookie team looks:

2013 PFWA ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: RB Eddie Lacy, Green Bay Packers
2013 PFWA OFFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: WR Keenan Allen, San Diego Chargers
2013 PFWA DEFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: LB Kiko Alonso, Buffalo Bills


QB - Mike Glennon, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
RB - Giovani Bernard, Cincinnati Bengals; Eddie Lacy, Green Bay Packers
WR - Keenan Allen, San Diego Chargers; DeAndre Hopkins, Houston Texans
TE - Jordan Reed, Washington Redskins
C - Travis Frederick, Dallas Cowboys
G - Kyle Long, Chicago Bears; Larry Warford, Detroit Lions
T - D.J. Fluker, San Diego Chargers; Justin Pugh, New York Giants

DL - Ziggy Ansah, Detroit Lions; Star Lotulelei, Carolina Panthers; Sheldon Richardson, New York Jets; Kawann Short, Carolina Panthers
LB - Kiko Alonso, Buffalo Bills; Sio Moore, Oakland Raiders; Alec Ogletree, St. Louis Rams
CB - Tyrann Mathieu, Arizona Cardinals; Desmond Trufant, Atlanta Falcons
S - Eric Reid, San Francisco 49ers; Kenny Vaccaro, New Orleans Saints

Special Teams
PK - Caleb Sturgis, Miami Dolphins
P - Sam Martin, Detroit Lions
KR - Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota Vikings
PR - Tavon Austin, St. Louis Rams
ST - Don Jones, Miami Dolphins