clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tim Brown a finalist for 2014 Hall of Fame, Steve Wisniewski doesn't make cut

New, comments

The 15 modern-era finalists for the 2014 Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2014 were announced tonight and among them is Raiders legendary receiver, Tim Brown. He is one of two Raiders now in line for the Hall of Fame this year. He joins Ray Guy who is a Senior Committee nominee.

The list was trimmed from 25 semifinalists. Among the ten names not making the list of finalists from the semifinalists were former Raiders Steve Wisniewski and Roger Craig.

Tim Brown spent the first 16 of his 17 seasons in the NFL with the Raiders. During his time in the NFL, he compiled 1094 receptions 14,934 yards with exactly 100 receiving TD's. He was a nine-time Pro Bowler as both a return specialist and a wide receiver. His receiving numbers are fifth all-time in NFL history and is the highest total of any eligible receiver not already in the Hall of Fame. He has been eligible since 2010.

Steve Wisniewski played his entire 12-year career for the Raiders. In that time he was an 8-time Pro Bowler and 2-time All Pro selection locking down the left guard spot for the Raiders for over a decade. In his career, he missed just two games with one being his rookie season.

Roger Craig played just one season in Silver & Black. He made his Hall of Fame credentials as a member of several Super Bowl teams with the 49ers. But the Raiders still claim him among their tally should he get in.

The entire list of 15 finalists is as follows:

Morten Andersen, K - 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings

Jerome Bettis, RB - 1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers

Derrick Brooks, LB - 1995-2008 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Tim Brown, WR/KR - 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner - 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers

Tony Dungy, Coach - 1996-2001 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2002-08 Indianapolis Colts

Kevin Greene, LB/DE - 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

Charles Haley, DE/LB - 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys

Marvin Harrison, WR - 1996-2008 Indianapolis Colts

Walter Jones, - T - 1997-2008 Seattle Seahawks

John Lynch, FS - 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos

Andre Reed, WR - 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins

Will Shields, G - 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs

Michael Strahan, DE - 1993-2007 New York Giants

Aeneas Williams, CB/S - 1991-2000 Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals, 2001-04 St. Louis Rams

That list is now at 17 total nominees with the inclusion of the two recommended candidates of the Hall of Fame's Seniors Committee. The Senior's Committee nominees, who were announced in August, are punter Ray Guy (1973-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders) and defensive end Claude Humphrey (1968-1978 Atlanta Falcons, 1979-1981 Philadelphia Eagles).

The 15 modern-era finalists who will be considered for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame when the Hall's Selection Committee meets in New York City on Saturday, Feb. 1, 2014.