clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Honors show tonight: Tim Brown up for Hall of Fame, Khalil Mack for Defensive Rookie of the Year

New, comments
Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

On the eve of the Super Bowl, the NFL will honor the outstanding players for the 2014 season as well as announce the inductees into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The Raiders have one player looking for the end of a long journey and one player's journey just beginning.

Legendary Raiders wide receiver Tim Brown is a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame, while 2014 rookie linebacker Khalil Mack is a bonafide candidate for NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year.

Tim Brown has waited six years to hear his name called and with his veteran peer Andre Reed getting in last year, Brown is up. He has all the numbers to get in and his time may have arrived.

Mack's primary competition for the DROY award is Rams defensive tackle, Aaron Donald. Most postseason picks and predictions have Donald taking the award, but until the name is announced, no one knows for certain.

If I had a vote, it would be for Mack. And not because he plays for the Raiders, because he has earned it. He was easily the best player on the Raiders defense last season, putting up tremendous numbers in both pass rushing and run support. And he did it with almost no help around him.

Donald put up great numbers and will have earned the awards as well. But he did it while seeing very few double teams as offenses had to account for the elite pass rushing talents around him. Put Mack on that team and he has a rookie season for the record books.

With that said, here is the information you need to know to catch the show:

How to watch

Time: 6:00 p.m. Pacific time (9:00pm Eastern)

TV: NBC (red carpet coverage on NFL Network at 5 p.m.)

The awards

AP Most Valuable Player

AP Coach of the year

AP Offensive player of the year

AP Defensive player of the year

AP Offensive rookie of the year

AP Defensive rookie of the year

AP Comeback player of the year

NFL Sportsmanship award Fantasy player of the year

Walter Payton NFL Man of the year

FedEx Air and Ground players of the year

Play of the year

Salute to service award