clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tim Brown among 15 modern era Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists

New, comments
James D. Smith-USA TODAY Sports

The list of 15 modern era finalists for the class of 2015 was announced Thursday night. Among them once again is ‘Mr Raider' Tim Brown. Roger Craig was the lone former Raiders to make the list of semifinalists but he didn't make the list of finalists.

The 15 modern era finalists are as follows:

K Morten Andersen
RB Jerome Bettis
WR Tim Brown
HC Don Coryell
RB Terrell Davis
HC Tony Dungy
LB Kevin Greene
DE Charles Haley
WR Marvin Harrison
HC Jimmy Johnson
S John Lynch
OT Orlando Pace
GM Bill Polian
LB Junior Seau
OL Will Shields

The initial list had 113 nominees, 11 of whom were former Raiders. Those who didn't make the list of semifinalists were Rich Gannon, Steve Wisniewski, Greg Townsend, Ted Washington, Matt Millen, Eric Allen, Albert Lewis, Terry McDaniel, and Tom Flores. That of course doesn't include a host of former Raiders who were left off the list of nominees entirely.

Tim Brown has been a finalist every year since he became eligible six years ago. He made it to the final cutdown the last two years before falling short.

This year the only other receiver among the finalists is Marvin Harrison. He was also competing with two former members of the Rams ‘Greatest Show on Turf' Isaac Bruce and Tory Holt. They were both knocked out in the semi-final round.

Brown was a 16-year career Raider (aside from the one final year in Tampa). He was a 9-time Pro Bowler, racking up nearly 15,000 receiving yards and 100 touchdowns.

From this list, the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee will select the modern era-enshrinees.