clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Raiders vs Vikings suspended in second quarter due to lightning

New, comments
Bruce Kluckhohn-USA TODAY Sports

During the second quarter of the Raiders preseason game in Minnesota against the Vikings, lightning flashed a bit too close for comfort, causing officials to temporarily suspend the game. The players were sent to the locker rooms and the fans were sent inside as well.

This means play won't resume for at least 40 minutes, which would have the game resuming at 6:50pm Pacific time (8:50pm Central). Officially players may not return to the field until 30 minutes after the last lightning strike. Then a ten-minute warm-up period follows before play can resume.

There were severe thunderstorm warnings prior to the game along with a tornado watch in effect. The lightning during pregame caused the field as well as the stands to be cleared by a half hour before game time, the players were allowed to take the field and the fans to their seats and kickoff happened on time at 7:06pm local time (5:06pm Pacific).

They had played until the 6:45 mark of the 2nd quarter with a 6-6 tie between the Raiders and Vikings.

We'll keep you updated on the status of the game as we know more.

UPDATE: The game is set to resume at 9:15pm Central time (7:15pm Pacific). There will also be an abbreviated 2-minute halftime. So, basically a commercial break.