clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

No Raiders among 15 Modern Era Finalists for Class of 2016 Hall of Fame

New, comments
Stephen Dunn/Getty Images

The NFL has announced the finalists for the 2016 Hall of Fame class, and there isn't a modern-era Raiders who has made the list. That isn't a surprise considering Roger Craig was the only former Raiders players that was even a semi-finalist.

Thankfully, though painfully far too late, Kenny Stabler is one of two senior nominees so there will still be a Silver and Black representative at the Hall of Fame ceremonies. Sadly, Stabler passed away last year so he never got to enjoy his rightful place among the greats. There are many more Raiders greats like Tom Flores and Cliff Branch that still haven't been voted in as well, hopefully they don't have to wait past their time on earth too.

The NFL will still whittle this list of 15 modern-era finalists down to the 5 official nominees for the Class of 2016. They will announce who has made it into the hall of fame on February 6th, the night before the Super Bowl. There are three first year eligible players on the list; Brett Favre, Alan Faneca, and Terrell Owens.

15 Modern Era Finalists

QB- Brett Favre, Kurt Warner

RB- Terrell Davis, Edgerrin James

WR- Marvin Harrison, Terrell Owens

OL- Alan Faneca, Joe Jacoby, Orlando Pace

LB- Kevin Green

DB- Steve Atwater, John Lynch

K- Morten Anderson

Coach- Don Coryell, Tony Dungy

2 Senior Nominees

QB Kenny Stabler

G Dick Stanfel

1 Contributor candidate

Edward DeBartolo, Jr.