clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Derek Carr is Raiders Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award nominee

New, comments

Each year, each of the NFL’s 32 teams nominates a player for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award which recognizes players around the league who demonstrate outstanding sportsmanship on the field. This year the Raiders have made third year quarterback Derek Carr their nominee.

The award was created in 2014 and honors the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Art Rooney, Sr.

Carr is the ideal recipient for the award. He consistently shows exemplary sportsmanship on and off the field. Last year Charles Woodson was the Raiders’ nominee, though it was Cardinals receiver Larry Fitzgerals who took home the honor.

A panel of former NFL players, which includes Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler, are charged with selecting eight finalists from the 32 nominees. Those eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot when players vote in December. Each team will then submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner.

The winner will be announced during the NFL Honors show on Feb. 4, where he will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.

Also recently long snapper Jon Condo was the team’s nomination for the USAA Salute to Service Award which recognizes players who demonstrate an exemplary commitment to honoring and supporting the military community.