clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Hall of Fame class of 2016: Tonight we find out if Ken Stabler will finally be inducted

New, comments
Getty Images/Getty Images

The day is finally here. Where we find out who will be inducted as part of the Hall of Fame class of 2016. There are 18 total nominees to be pared down, including 15 modern era finalists, two Senior Committee nominees, and one contributor.

One of the Senior Committee nominees is the late Ken Stabler. Most Senior Committee nominees are inducted, but we can't take that for granted. After Stabler -- a Super Bowl winner and widely considered one of the NFL's greatest players -- had been eligible for 26 years, it certainly seems possible they could pull the rug out again.

Last year Raiders greats Tim Brown and Ron Wolf both got the call to the Hall and the year before that Ray Guy got in as a Senior Committee nominee, becoming the first ever pure punter inducted.

Here are all of the current finalists from whom the handful of inductees will be chosen. The announcement will take place tonight at the NFL Honors show which airs at 5pm Pacific on CBS. Find out more about the Honors show here.

Hall of Fame finalists:

Morten Andersen, Kicker -- 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings

Steve Atwater, Safety -- 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets

Don Coryell, Coach -- 1973-77 St. LouisCardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers

Terrell Davis, Running Back -- 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

Tony Dungy, Coach -- 1996-2001Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2002-08 Indianapolis Colts

Alan Faneca, Guard -- 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals

Brett Favre, Quarterback -- 1991 Atlanta Falcons, 1992-2007 Green Bay Packers, 2008 New York Jets, 2009-2010 Minnesota Vikings

Kevin Greene, Linebacker/Defensive End -- 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

Marvin Harrison, Wide Receiver --1996-2008 Indianapolis Colts

Joe Jacoby, Tackle -- 1981-1993 Washington

Edgerrin James, Running Back --1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks

John Lynch, Free Safety -- 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos

Terrell Owens, Wide Receiver -- 1996-2003 San Francisco 49ers, 2004-05 Philadelphia Eagles, 2006-08 Dallas Cowboys, 2009 Buffalo Bills, 2010 Cincinnati Bengals

Orlando Pace, Tackle -- 1997-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Chicago Bears

Kurt Warner, Quarterback -- 1998-2003 St. Louis Rams, 2004 New York Giants, 2005-09 Arizona Cardinals

Senior finalists

Ken Stabler, Quarterback -- 1970-1979 Oakland Raiders, 1980-1981 Houston Oilers, 1982-1984 New Orleans Saints

Dick Stanfel, Guard -- 1952-55 Detroit Lions, 1956-58 Washington

Contributor finalist

Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner -- 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers