clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 NFL Honors Show time, awards, categories: Amari Cooper, Khalil Mack made their case

New, comments
Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The NFL Honors show is tonight. It's kind of like the Oscars for the NFL. They hand out various awards for excellence during the 2015 NFL season. Two of those who are being considered for awards are Raiders -- Amari Cooper for AP Offensive Rookie of the Year, and Khalil Mack for AP Defensive Player of the Year.

Offensive rookie of the Year is between three players, primarily -- Cooper, Rams RB Todd Gurley, and Buccaneers QB Jameis Winston. Of those writers who gave their opinions, three of them -- Adam Schein, Heath Evans, and LaVar Arrington -- pick Cooper, who led all rookie receivers with 72 catches for 1070 yards last season.

Mack, who was second in the NFL in sacks (15.5) made history as the only ever player voted first team All Pro at two positions (LB and DE). He has Willie McGinest's vote. The former NFL defensive end said of Mack:

Khalil Mack is a highly gifted force off the edge who's still just scratching the surface
The Raiders moved Khalil Mack from (primarily) linebacker to defensive end. For a guy to move positions and put up the numbers and have the impact that Mack did, it says a lot about his talent.

Others receiving strong consideration for Defensive Player of the Year are reigning 2-time DPOY JJ Watt, Cardinals DB Tyrann Mathieu, and the Super Bowl bound Panthers' middle linebacker Luke Kuechly.

Here are all the details of tonight's show:

Date: Saturday, February 6, 2016
Time: 6:00pm Pacific (9:00pm ET)


AP Most Valuable Player
AP Coach of the Year
AP Offensive Player of the Year
AP Defensive Player of the Year
AP Offensive Rookie of the Year
AP Defensive Rookie of the Year
AP Comeback Player of the Year
NFL Sportsmanship Award Fantasy Player of the Year
Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year
Don Shula NFL HS Coach of the Year Award
FedEx Air & Ground Players of the Year
Castrol EDGE Clutch Performer of the Year
Bridgestone Performance Play of the Year
Courtyard's Greatness on the Road Award
Salute To Service Award