clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Six Raiders among 2017 Pro Football Hall of Fame modern era nominees

New, comments
San Diego Chargers vs. Los Angeles Raiders Photo by George Rose/Getty Images

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced their nominees for the class of 2017 Wednesday. Among the list of 94 nominees are six former Raiders. Those Raiders nominees are RB Roger Craig, T Jim Lachey, G Steve Wisniewski, CB Eric Allen, CB Albert Lewis, HC Tom Flores.

The only nominee from last year who didn’t make this list of nominees this year was Matt Millen.

Craig spent most of his 11-year career with the 49ers, where he was named to 4 Pro Bowls and was a 1-time All Pro. He also got three Super Bowl rings in San Francisco. He then came to the Raiders for one season before spending the final two seasons of his career in Minnesota.

Lachey can barely be called a former Raider. He played just one game for the Raiders in 1988. He started his career in San Diego and finished his career in Washington. He was a three-time Pro Bowler and three-time All Pro.

Wisniewski was a career Raider. In his 13 seasons, he went to 8 Pro Bowls at the left guard spot and was named All Pro twice. He missed two games in his entire career and didn't miss a game over his final decade in the NFL.

Allen spent his first ten NFL seasons with the Eagles and Saints, where he went to six Pro Bowls and was named All Pro once. He joined the Raiders in 1998 and played his final four season with the Raiders. He finished with a 54 career interceptions.

Lewis played 16 seasons in the NFL. The first 11 of those seasons were in Kansas City where he went to four Pro Bowls and was named All Pro twice. He spent the final 5 seasons of his career with the Raiders.

Flores was the Raiders head coach for nine seasons from 1979-87. During that time he was 83-53 and won two Super Bowls. He was an assistant coach on the Raiders Super Bowl II team in 1977 as well. He was the NFL's first minority head coach. With Tony Dungy getting inducted this year, it raised even more questions as to how Flores is still not inducted to the hall.

The Raiders have had a player inducted into the Hall of Fame each of the past three years. Ken Stabler was inducted last year via the Senior Committee, Tim Brown got the call in 2015, and Ray Guy’s long wait ended in 2014, also via the Senior Committee.

For the sixth consecutive year, fans can vote for their favorite Pro Football Hall of Fame nominees. Fans should visit to make their picks.

The Modern-Era nominees will be trimmed to 25 semifinalists in November and, from there, to 15 finalists in January.

The Selection Committee will meet on Saturday, February 4, 2017 in Houston, Texas to elect the Class of 2017. While there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the selection process by-laws provide that between four and eight new members will be selected.