clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jack Del Rio wins Greasy Neale Professional Coach of the Year Award

New, comments

In Thursday’s edition of Raiders honors daily, Jack Del Rio has been selected as the winner of the 28th annual Greasy Neale Professional Coach of the Year Award, Maxwell Football Club President.

In just his second season since taking the head coaching job in Oakland, Del Rio led the Raiders to a 12-4 record and their first trip to the playoffs in 14 years. This after having led them to a resurgent 7-9 season in 2015 -- a 4-game improvement over the previous season.

Del Rio, who becomes just the second Raider coach to receive the Greasy Neale Award. The last being Art Shell back in 1990.

The Maxwell Football Club also named Atlanta Falcons’ QB Matt Ryan as the winner of the 58th Bert Bell Professional Player of the Year Award. Del Rio and Ryan will be honored Friday, March 10, 2017 at the 80th Maxwell Club National Awards Gala, which will be held at the Tropicana Casino Resort in Atlantic City, NJ.

Also receiving awards at this event will be; Lamar Jackson – Louisville (Maxwell Award), Jonathan Allen - Alabama (Chuck Bednarik Award), Nick Saban – Alabama (George Munger College Coach of the Year Award), James Conner – University of Pittsburgh (The Thomas Brookshier Spirit Award), Trace McSorley – Penn State (Brian Westbrook Tri-State Player of the Year Award), James Franklin – Penn State (Tri-State Coach of the Year) and Steve Spurrier – South Carolina/Florida/Duke (The Francis Reds Bagnell Award for Contributions to Football). Other MFC Awards at the high school, college and professional levels will also be announced in early January.