clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Derek Carr is Raiders 2017 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award nominee

New, comments
NFL: Baltimore Ravens at Oakland Raiders Cary Edmondson-USA TODAY Sports

Each NFL team today released their list of nominees for the 2017 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. The Raiders’ nominee is quarterback Derek Carr.

The player nominated by each team is decided by that club’s Media Relations department. It is for the player who represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.

It’s the Award’s fourth year of existence, named after the late Hall of Fame Steelers owner. Cardinals’ receiver Larry Fitzgerald was the first Award recipient back in 2014. The following year, Raiders nominee Charles Woodson won it in his final NFL season. Last year Frank Gore took the honor. This is the second year in a row Carr has been the Raiders’ award nominee.

Here is the full list of 2017 nominees:

The winner will be selected by the vote of the players and will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, February 3 on NBC, the night before Super Bowl LII. In addition to the trophy, the winner a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation will be awarded to a charity of his choice.