clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Raiders snubs from 2018 Hall of Fame nominees

New, comments
Pittsburgh Steelers v Los Angeles Raiders Photo by George Rose/Getty Images

Last year the Raiders went without any players being enshrined. Though to be fair, they had it pretty good the three years prior to that. Long time snubs Ray Guy and Ken Stabler finally got in – though posthumously for Stabler – thanks to the Senior Committee. As did Tim Brown and Ron Wolff.

This year, there are ten Raiders among the list of 108 nominees, including first time nominees Richard Seymour and Randy Moss, and longtime worthy 2-time Super Bowl winning head coach Tom Flores.

But the list of players who still can’t even get a sniff of the list of nominees is pretty long.

Most notably WR Cliff Branch, TE Todd Christensen, C Dave Dalby, CB Lester Hayes, CB Terry McDaniel, LB Matt Millen, QB Jim Plunkett, S Jack Tatum, and DT Ted Washington.

Here's a refresher on each of the snubs:

Cliff Branch retired with the most career postseason receptions in NFL history. He was part of all three Raiders Super Bowl teams. His fellow receiver, Fred Biletnikoff is in the Hall of Fame. Yet Branch is not even getting nominated anymore.

Todd Christensen went for five Pro Bowls, was a two-time All Pro. The only tight end to ever lead the Raiders in receiving four-straight seasons. One of those seasons was the 1983 Super Bowl winning season in which he had 1247 yards. He was part of both Raiders Super Bowl wins in the 80s.

Dave Dalby spent 14 years in the NFL, all with the Raiders. He was the Raiders starting center for all three of their Super Bowl wins. He made one Pro Bowl.

Lester Hayes was one of the greatest cornerbacks of all time. He and Hall of Famer Michael Haynes made up a lethal tandem in the Raiders' secondary. A five-time Pro Bowler and one-time All Pro, he spent his entire career with the Raiders and was on both Super Bowls in the early 80s. He gets a bad rep for his generous use of Stick-em during games.

Terry McDaniel was a former first round pick by the Raiders. He spent the first ten years of his 11-yard NFL career with the Raiders. He went to five-straight Pro Bowls from 1992-96. He finished with 35 career interceptions

Matt Millen spent 11 seasons in the NFL. He came to the Raiders in 1980 the season the won Super Bowl XV. He was a part of their Super Bowl XVIII team as well. He went to a Pro Bowl in 1988, his final season with the Raiders. He then joined the 49ers and won his third Super Bowl. After two seasons in San Francisco, he headed to Washington and won a Super Bowl his first season there. After his fourth ring, he retired from the NFL. Millen was a nominee in 2016 and missed the cut this year.

Jim Plunkett was the starting quarterback for both Raiders Super Bowls in the 80s. His career numbers aren't fantastic but he won when it counted. He is the only eligible two-time Super Bowl winning quarterback not to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Jack Tatum was one of the most feared defenders to ever roam the defensive secondary of any team. He embodied the knock-around style of the Raiders teams of the 70's. Hall of Fame safeties such as Ronnie Lott and Rod Woodson have said they emulated Tatum in their style of play. And yet the man who set the standard is not even a nominee.

Ted Washington spent 17 seasons in the NFL with seven different teams, making four Pro Bowls and one named All Pro once during that time. He played two seasons for the Raiders in 2004-05.