clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame modern era finalists: Just one Raiders player remains

New, comments

Many Raiders fans may not claim him, but technically Randy Moss did play for the Raiders.

San Diego Chargers vs Oakland Raiders - September 11, 2006 Photo by Kirby Lee/NFLPhotoLibrary

Tonight the Pro Football Hall of Fame trimmed their list of nominees for the 2018 class to 15 modern era Finalists. Among them is just one former Raiders player -- Randy Moss.

Moss suited up the the Raiders for two seasons in 2005-06 after the Raiders sent a first round pick and former top pick Napoleon Harris to Minnesota to get him.

He put up 1005 yards in his first season in Oakland, but fell off in his second season and complained about not getting the ball enough. Basically, the same attitude he became infamous for throughout his career which was marred by accusations of only playing when he wanted to.

The following offseason the Raiders would trade him to the Patriots for a fourth round pick.

Raiders players who were cut from the list of semifinalists were Richard Seymour and Roger Craig. Prior to that Tom Flores was among those eliminated from the nominees.

Here is the full list of 2018 Modern-Era Finalists with their positions, years and teams:

Ray Lewis, LB - 1996-2012 Baltimore Ravens

Brian Urlacher, LB - 2000-2012 Chicago Bears

Edgerrin James, RB - 1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks

Randy Moss, WR - 1998-2004, 2010 Minnesota Vikings, 2005-06 Oakland Raiders, 2007-2010 New England Patriots, 2010 Tennessee Titans, 2012 San Francisco 49ers

Terrell Owens, WR - 1996-2003 San Francisco 49ers, 2004-05 Philadelphia Eagles, 2006-08 Dallas Cowboys, 2009 Buffalo Bills, 2010 Cincinnati Bengals

Isaac Bruce, WR - 1994-2007 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 2008-09 San Francisco 49ers

John Lynch, FS - 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos

Brian Dawkins, S - 1996-2008 Philadelphia Eagles, 2009-2011 Denver Broncos

Everson Walls, CB - 1981-89 Dallas Cowboys, 1990-92 New York Giants, 1992-93 Cleveland Browns

Ty Law, CB - 1995-2004 New England Patriots, 2005, 2008 New York Jets, 2006-07 Kansas City Chiefs, 2009 Denver Broncos

Tony Boselli, T - 1995-2001 Jacksonville Jaguars, 2002 Houston Texans (injured reserve)

Kevin Mawae, C/G - 1994-97 Seattle Seahawks, 1998-2005 New York Jets, 2006-09 Tennessee Titans

Joe Jacoby, T - 1981-1993 Washington Redskins

Steve Hutchinson, G - 2001-05 Seattle Seahawks, 2006-2011 Minnesota Vikings, 2012 Tennessee Titans

Alan Faneca, G - 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals

The modern-era finalists join three other finalists to comprise 18 finalists under consideration for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2018.

Two Senior Finalists were announced in August 2017 by the Seniors Committee that reviews the qualifications of those players whose careers ended more than 25 years ago.

Robert Brazile, Linebacker - 1975-1984 Houston Oilers

Jerry Kramer, Guard - 1958-1968 Green Bay Packers

One Contributor Finalist, also announced in August, was selected by the Hall of Fame's Contributor Committee that considers persons, other than players and coaches, who made outstanding contributions to professional football.

Bobby Beathard, General Manager/Personnel Administrator - 1966-67 Kansas City Chiefs, 1968-1971 Atlanta Falcons, 1972-77 Miami Dolphins, 1978-1988 Washington Redskins, 1990-99 San Diego Chargers