clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jared Cook voted Raiders Ed Block Courage Award recipient

New, comments
Oakland Raiders v Baltimore Ravens Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images

Each year, the players from all 32 NFL teams vote on which of their teammates should win the Ed Block Courage Award, which is awarded to the player from each team who best exemplifies the principles of sportsmanship and courage. This isn’t like an award voted by the fans or the media, it’s voted on by the players themselves, so it really means a lot when a player wins it. This year’s recipient for the Raiders is tight end Jared Cook.

In 2017, Derek Carr was the winner of the Ed Block Courage Award, but now yields the honor to one of his favorite targets.

Cook led the team in 2017 with 688 receiving yards and two touchdowns after arriving as a free agent from Green Bay. This year he leads the team with 609 receiving yards and a career-high five touchdowns, so he is on pace to vastly outperform even his terrific showing from last season. Cook has been Oakland’s most reliable target and perhaps its most dangerous receiver for the duration of his tenure for the Raiders and he is a vital part of the team.

The Ed Block Courage award honors the memory and legacy of Ed Block, longtime head trainer of the Baltimore Colts and a respected humanitarian. The organization that bears his name focuses on helping abused children and families in crisis. Each winner of the Ed Block award becomes an Ambassador of Courage for victims of violence, abuse and neglect.