clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Honors, Hall of Fame class of 2018 announcement how to watch: TV schedule, finalists, award categories, nominees

New, comments
NFL: FEB 04 NFL Honors Red Carpet Photo by Rich Graessle/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Saturday night, prior to the Super Bowl the NFL world converges on Minneapolis Minnesota for the NFL Honors. Along with awards, the Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2018 will be announced.

Here are the 15 Modern era Hall of Fame finalists and 18 total finalists from which the committees will be choosing:

Tony Boselli, Tackle – 1995-2001 Jacksonville Jaguars

Isaac Bruce, Wide Receiver – 1994-2007 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 2008-09 San Francisco 49ers

Brian Dawkins, Safety – 1996-2008 Philadelphia Eagles, 2009-2011 Denver Broncos

Alan Faneca, Guard – 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals

Steve Hutchinson, Guard – 2001-05 Seattle Seahawks, 2006-2011 Minnesota Vikings, 2012 Tennessee Titans

Joe Jacoby, Tackle – 1981-1993 Washington Redskins

Edgerrin James, Running Back – 1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks

Ty Law, Cornerback – 1995-2004 New England Patriots, 2005, 2008 New York Jets, 2006-07 Kansas City Chiefs, 2009 Denver Broncos

Ray Lewis, Linebacker – 1996-2012 Baltimore Ravens

John Lynch, Free Safety – 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos

Kevin Mawae, Center – 1994-97 Seattle Seahawks, 1998-2005 New York Jets, 2006-09 Tennessee Titans

Randy Moss, Wide Receiver – 1998-2004, 2010 Minnesota Vikings, 2005-06 Oakland Raiders, 2007-2010 New England Patriots, 2010 Tennessee Titans, 2012 San Francisco 49ers

Terrell Owens, Wide Receiver – 1996-2003 San Francisco 49ers, 2004-05 Philadelphia Eagles, 2006-08 Dallas Cowboys, 2009 Buffalo Bills, 2010 Cincinnati Bengals

Brian Urlacher, Linebacker – 2000-2012 Chicago Bears

Everson Walls, Cornerback – 1981-89 Dallas Cowboys, 1990-92 New York Giants, 1992-93 Cleveland Browns

Senior Finalists:

Robert Brazile, Linebacker – 1975-1984 Houston Oilers

Jerry Kramer, Guard – 1958-1968 Green Bay Packers

Contributor Finalist:

Bobby Beathard, General Manager/Personnel Administrator – 1966-67 Kansas City Chiefs, 1968-1971 Atlanta Falcons, 1972-77 Miami Dolphins, 1978-1988 Washington Redskins, 1990-99 San Diego Chargers

Show details:

Event: 7th Annual NFL Honors

Date: February 3, 2018

Time: 9pm PT/ET on tape delay (6pm show, which means unless you stay away from twitter, everyone will know the results well ahead of time.)


Where: Northrop at the University of Minnesota, Minn.

Streaming: NBC Sports

Award categories, nominees:

Most Valuable Player: Tom Brady is considered the front-runner going in, although players like Todd Gurley and Antonio Brown could also make a strong case.

Offensive Player of the Year: Gurley and Brown are the major favorites along with Le’Veon Bell and Kareem Hunt.

Defensive Player of the Year: Calais Campbell, Aaron Donald, Demarcus Lawrence, Cameron Jordan, and Jalen Ramsey are top contenders.

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Alvin Kamara is the front-runner, but Hunt, the league’s leading rusher, will get some votes of his own.

Defensive Rookie of the Year: The Saints’ rookie corner Marshon Lattimore is the favorite.

Coach of the Year: Rams’ Sean McVay has this one locked up.

Comeback Player of the Year: Look for Keenan Allen and Rob Gronkowski to get strong consideration this year.

Walter Payton Man of the Year: J.J. Watt is the favorite for his work in Hurricane disaster relief in Houston. Other finalists are Panthers TE Greg Olsen and Ravens TE Benjamin Watson.

FedEx Air (best quarterback) Player of the Year: Alex Smith, Carson Wentz, Tom Brady,

FedEx Ground (best running back) Players of the Year: Kareem Hunt, Le’Veon Bell, Todd Gurley.

Offensive Line of the Year: Rams, Saints, Eagles, Steelers, Titans

Salute to Service Award: Falcons WR Andre Roberts, Panthers HC Ron Rivera and former Titans HC Mike Mularkey

Clutch Performer of the Year: Carson Wentz (4 TD’s vs Washington), Mark Ingram (3 TD’s vs Bills), Drew Brees (385 yards, 2 TD’s vs Washington), Antonio Brown (169 yards, 2 TD’s vs Packers), Stefon Diggs (137 yards, 1 TD vs Saints).

Art Rooney Award: Joe Thomas, Antonio Gates, Vernon Davis, Luke Kuechly, Haloti Ngata, Joe Staley, Josh McCown and Alex Smith.

Play of the Year

Game Changer Award

Greatness on the Road Award

Deacon Jones Award

Touchdown Celebration of the Year