clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Twelve Raiders among 122 Pro Football Hall of Fame modern-era nominees

New, comments
Oakland Raiders v Phiadelphia Eagles Photo by Mitchell Layton/Getty Images

Today the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced their candidates for the class of 2020. That list includes 12 players who once donned the Silver & Black. They are

QB Jeff Hostetler, RB Maurice Jones-Drew, G Kevin Gogan, T Lincoln Kennedy, G Steve Wisniewski, DT La’Roi Glover, DT Chester McGlockton, DT Richard Seymour, DE Greg Townsend, CB Eric Allen, CB Albert Lewis, and CB Terry McDaniel

The Modern-Era players list will be reduced to 25 Semifinalists in November and to 15 Finalists in early January 2020. The finalists will then be presented to the full 48-member Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee during its annual meeting on “Selection Saturday,” the day before Super Bowl LIV.

Of the first time nominees, the only sure first-ballot guy is Troy Polamalu. So, you figure you’re picking four from the remaining 121.

If you’re wondering where some of the all-time Raiders greats are who have been snubbed for decades, many of them — including Tom Flores and Cliff Branch — will be considered among a special group for the centennial class.

The Hall of Fame Board recently passed a resolution that suspended the Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee By-Laws for the Class of 2020 election cycle only. The measure is intended to honor the NFL’s Centennial Celebration through a special Centennial Class that will be comprised of 20 members in 2020. The group will include five Modern-Era players to come from the list announced today in addition to 10 Seniors (a player who has been retired for more than 25 seasons), three Contributors (an individual other than a player or coach) and two Coaches.