clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Raiders name six team captains

Newcomers Maliek Collins and Nick Kwiatkoski are honored by teammates

Dallas Cowboys v New Orleans Saints
Maliek Collins
Photo by Jonathan Bachman/Getty Images

With the season starting in five days, the Raiders have announced their six captains for the 2020 season, which was voted on by the team.

The captains are quarterback Derek Carr, center Rodney Hudson, defensive tackle Maliek Collins, linebacker Nick Kwiatkoski, safety Erik Harris and special teamer Kyle Wilber.

It’s an interesting group. Collins and Kwiatkoski are first-time Raiders as they both signed as free agents in the offseason. Clearly, they have made a fast and strong impressions on their new teammates.

Wilber was named a team captain one day after being re-signed by the Raiders. He was cut Saturday and then back with the team by Monday.

Harris was clearly moved by the respect show by his teammates, saying that it meant more than any stat or contract.

The choices of Carr and Hudson were obvious as they have both been long-time captains with the team.