clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ranking Derek Carr by tiers

Where does Raiders’ quarterback belong in NFL rankings?

Miami Dolphins v Las Vegas Raiders
Derek Carr
Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images

I’ve been thinking of ranking Las Vegas Raiders quarterback Derek Carr by tiers for a few weeks.

I decided to do it now because it’s been a hot topic lately spurred by Pro Football Focus ranking Carr as the No. 13 quarterback in the NFL.

I actually think PFF has it about right with Carr as we’ll see in my rankings. (FYI, I’m only going as far as the tier where I have Carr placed).

Kansas City Chiefs v Las Vegas Raiders
Patrick Mahomes
Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images

Tier 1

Patrick Mahomes (Kansas City Chiefs), Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers), Russell Wilson, (Seattle Seahawks), Deshaun Watson (Houston Texans), Tom Brady (Tampa Bay Buccaneers), Josh Allen (Buffalo Bills.

If you have a problem with this list ... well, sorry. Yes, Brady and Allen belong here and that Is reality.

Divisional Round - Baltimore Ravens v Buffalo Bills
Lamar Jackson
Photo by Bryan Bennett/Getty Images

Tier 2

Lamar Jackson (Baltimore Ravens), Dak Prescott (Dallas Cowboys), Matthew Stafford (Los Angeles Rams).

These guys are just a cut above the rest.

Los Angeles Chargers v Kansas City Chiefs
Justin Herbert
Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images

Tier 3

Justin Herbert (Los Angeles Chargers), Matt Ryan (Atlanta Falcons), Ryan Tannehill (Tennessee Titans), Derek Carr, (Las Vegas Raiders), Ben Roethlisberger (Pittsburgh Steelers), Baker Mayfield (Cleveland Browns ), Kirk Cousins (Minnesota Vikings).

This is a strong group of quarterbacks and they’re all capable of leading their teams to the postseason.

I think it’s fair to say Carr is a Tier 3 quarterback. There is nothing wrong with him being in this tier. Again, it shows the Raiders can win because of him and not in spite of him.